Make up, music, moustaches and all that good stuff

So ever since I was roughly 15/16 I have wanted bleached hair, spending my teenage years around the local gig scene with hair ranging from jet black to bright green I’d always been around a rainbow of people. But, with parents who are qualified hair dressers they’re main concern was always about how damaging it would be to my hair, blah, blah ,blah. So I had put it off for years and years always chickening out and coming up with excuses not to, partly because I knew my parents would flip and also because I was worried I’d look ridiculous.

This year in general has been a very adventurous year when it comes to my hair, I went from having very long very thick hair to cutting it into a lopsided bob type style, with one side almost hitting my shoulder and the other cut “boy” short.

I was already making big changes so I said “ah sure why not” to getting my friend to bleach it, so Saturday around lunchtime we began mixing up a concoction of Jerome Russell bleaching products available at Boots and Amazon (all of which can be found here). For the first bleaching we used three sachets of the Jerome Russel Bblonde Powder Bleach Highlift mixed with three bottles on the Jerome Russel Bblonde Cream Peroxide 40 Vol. I left this on for roughly an hour and ten minutes. The pain was so so bad! But I just assumed it was me being a baby about it so I just left the bleach on.

The problem with the bleach being blue was that it was highly deceiving, as you can see from the photo below it made it look like my hair was WHITE, but when you washed it out it was a totally different story!

My hair was a really horrible brassy orange colour ( NOT what I had hoped for!), so I dried it and that took some of the brassiness away but it was still a bit orange for my liking so on went the second bleaching.

By this stage the back of my head felt like it was on fire so I didn’t put any more on there. It took another two sachets and bottles to finish my hair. The burning pain on my scalp was just horrendous but I still just assumed I had a very low pain threshold and left it on for roughly 45 minutes. After washing it out the second time and drying it, a lot of the brassiness had been taken out and I was left with a “glowing” yellowy bleach look, I know this would not be everyone’s cup of tea but I don’t mind it.

All in all I’m pretty pleased with the end result of hair, I like the colour, and it doesn’t feel like straw, although my hair has dried out a lot from the bleaching but my hair tended to be quite oily and a bit too silky so the fact its not a little drier is perfect for me. The downside is that my scalp was seriously burned by bleach and I do have burn marks and scabs on my head from that so do definitely be careful about putting peroxide on your scalp. I will be doing a post in a week or two about the “after care” products I’m using and if I’ve seen a significant difference. I also have a video up about bleaching my hair, the products, etc.

So what you guys think? Love it? Hate it? Let me know.

Comments on: "Do blondes really have more fun?" (2)

Leave a Reply

